Peach and Apricot Tart

Peaches and apricots are two of my favorite fruits, and they’re coming into season now, so I’m taking the opportunity to make this peach and apricot tart, which I’ve had bookmarked for a long time.

Fresh peaches and apricots

Fresh peaches and apricots

My mom didn’t cook or bake for fun, and when I was a kid, we didn’t have a pantry. If you wanted to make something, you had to look at the list of ingredients and then go buy what you needed, which, typically, was everything. One of the neighbors had a walk-in pantry that had everything you could want, and I thought that was the coolest thing. I wanted a pantry like that when I grew up, and I have one! I mention this because some of the ingredients for this tart are a little exotic, but I actually have everything right here. Well, I did have to buy the fruit, but fresh fruit isn’t something you store in your pantry.

Almond Oil Tart Crust
150 g all purpose flour
50 g quinoa flour
30 g pulverized almonds
60 g granulated sugar
a few grinds of sea salt
80 mL (75 g) almond oil
80 mL ice water

Whisk together the dry ingredients. Stir in the almond oil.

Dry ingredients with almond oil added

Dry ingredients with almond oil added

Pour in the ice water, stirring, until the dough forms lumps; you might not need all the ice water. (You can also do this in a food processor, but today I just wanted to put the bowl on the scale and weigh everything.) Allow the dough to sit at room temperature for an hour.

Preheat the oven to 350℉.

Spread the dough in a 24-cm tart pan and dock the dough. (I used the 9-inch square tart pan, which isn’t quite the same size, but it worked fine.) Put the tart shell in the freezer while you prepare the filling.

Filling
2 large peaches and 2 or 3 apricots
4 T pulverized almonds
2 T chopped pistachios
4 T honey

Slice the peaches and apricots in about 3/8-inch slices. (I don’t peel them.)

Sprinkle the powdered almonds on the bottom of the tart shell.

Pulverized almonds sprinkled on the tart dough

Pulverized almonds sprinkled on the tart dough

Arrange the sliced fruit in the shell.
Sprinkle the pistachios over the fruit.
Drizzle the honey over everything. (I just drizzled right out of the bottle; I have no idea if I used 4 tablespoons.)

Peach and apricot tart ready for the oven

Peach and apricot tart ready for the oven

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until the crust has browned.

A slice of tart

A slice of tart

Leave a comment

Filed under tart

Leave a Reply

