Pi(e) Day (Observed) Redux

Dr. Science took some nice photos of the complement of pie. I packed the tarts in baking sheets, one of which has a lid, and Dr. Science put the apple and lemon meringue in shopping bags. We caught the bus to Kendall Square and waited for our connection:

Pi(e)s waiting at the bus stop in Kendall Square

Pi(e)s waiting at the bus stop in Kendall Square

Once we got to his office, we laid them all out in the conference room:

Pi(e)s laid out in the conference room

Pi(e)s laid out in the conference room

The apple pie just looks like all my apple pies:

Apple pi(e)

Apple pi(e)

The lemon meringue pie looks like all my lemon meringue pies. Unfortunately, I never got to taste this one, but I’m told it was good:

Lemon meringue pie

Lemon meringue pie

Dr. Science thought I should do something fancy, and I’ve always wanted to do the pear tart from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, so I took a stab at it. I’ve never made one of these before, so this was the test pie. I’m told everyone liked it. (I didn’t get to taste this one, either. I’ll have to make another one sometime.)

Tarte aux poires à la Bourdaloue

Here’s a nicer view of the pi(e) (a)r(e) square(d), which also got good reviews:

Pi(e) (a)r(e) square(d)

Pi(e) (a)r(e) square(d) waiting to be devoured

I submitted this one to a Pi(e) Day contest, but there was a glitch in the submission process. The rules say you have to upload a photo to Photograzing and then e-mail the link to that and your recipe. I uploaded the photo as soon as I got home (around 1 pm Friday) but the photo didn’t appear on the Photograzing page until late Saturday night. I submitted my entry, but it didn’t make the list, and mine wasn’t the only one. Someone commented that the photos submitted to Photograzing are judged and only accepted if they’re fabulous enough. I don’t know if that’s fact or opinion; I haven’t seen anything on the Serious Eats site that describes Photograzing as open only to top-notch food photography. Anyway . . .

The organizers have handled this nicely, adding a note giving a fresh deadline and accepting submissions from bakers whose photos went up after March 13. From the original “final” list of a dozen, they’re now up to about three dozen (I counted 35). At some point, they’ll be putting the pies up for a vote for an overall winner plus three runners up in the categories Judges’ Pick, Most Photogenic, and Best Concept. There are some excellent concepts and some beautiful pies. I’d love a t-shirt, but the competition is pretty stiff.

Reference
Julia Child, Simone Beck, Louisette Bertholle: Mastering the Art of French Cooking, vol. 1. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1962, p 642.

Leave a comment

Filed under pie

Leave a Reply

