Think Pink

So I have three egg whites left over from the lime curd, and they’re aging in the fridge. Time to try macarons again, this time with properly pulverized almonds. Unfortunately, as I lifted the bowl to pour the egg whites into the mixer, my hand slipped and the whites went all over the counter. So I used fresh egg whites, and I still don’t know if the aged whites are better. However, I have corrected one problem, which is the pulverized almonds. This batch of meringue definitely has a different texture (quelle surprise). And I’m not ready to try anything fancy with the flavoring, but I did add a couple teaspoons of kirsch and a couple drops of red food coloring to the meringue, just for something different. After 14 minutes in the oven, they look like this:

One sheet of baked kirsch macarons

One sheet of baked kirsch macarons


Another sheet of kirsch macarons

Another sheet of kirsch macarons

None are cracked and they all have feet, so that’s progress. I think they should be taller, though. I also need to improve my piping skills.

I wanted to make a white chocolate ganache for filling, but it turns out I don’t have white chocolate. I wasn’t sure regular chocolate would look nice, but the meringues have brown flecks in them from the almonds, so I think it’ll be okay.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

