Rye Bread

Despite my German heritage, I just don’t like rye bread. I probably shouldn’t admit that. Anyway, I checked Peter Reinhart’s Crust and Crumb out of the library yesterday and made a loaf of the yeasted rye bread:

Rye bread

Rye bread

Dr. Science likes variety, so he’s getting rye bread and he’s getting it in a form that’s not a sandwich loaf. He thinks the slashes make it look like a sea urchin without the spikes.

Yeasted Rye Bread
Sponge
4½ oz bread flour
4½ oz coarse rye flour
1 t instant yeast
1 cup cool water

Mix that together and let it ferment for 4 hours.

Dough
9 oz bread flour
1 T diastatic malt powder
1¼ t salt (I used 2½ t Diamond Crystal kosher salt)
1 T caraway seeds
1 t cocoa powder
2 oz buttermilk
sponge

I put everything in the bread machine to mix, knead, and proof. I had weighed all the ingredients, but I found I needed another ounce or so of buttermilk because the dough was very stiff. After the dough had risen for an hour, I punched it down and formed the boule, let it rise for another hour, slashed the top, and baked it at 350℉ for 40 minutes. I’ll hear the verdict tomorrow.

Reference
Master Formula: Yeasted Rye. In Peter Reinhart, Crust and Crumb. Berkeley: Ten Speed Press, 1998, p. 104.

Leave a comment

Filed under bread

Leave a Reply

