Hamburger Buns

I’m working on more lemon curd and lemon tarts, but while that’s going on, I thought I’d make hamburger buns. I used King Arthur’s Beautiful Burger Buns recipe. I weighed the dough before I broke it into buns, and I got 28½ ounces, so about 3¼ ounces per bun. The instructions suggest rolling the dough into a log and cutting it into 8 pieces, which struck me as very clever, but I just didn’t have the counter space.

Here they are ready for the final rise:

Beautiful Burger Buns scaled and shaped (more or less)

Beautiful Burger Buns scaled and shaped (more or less)

Here they are brushed with egg white, sprinkled with sesame seeds, and out of the oven:

Burger buns out of the oven

Burger buns out of the oven

Here’s the crumb, which I think looks pretty good:

The crumb view

The crumb view

And finally, the bun fulfilling its intended function:

Burger bun in action

Burger bun in action

Leave a comment

Filed under bread

Leave a Reply

