Norwich, Vermont

Here I am in Norwich, Vermont, at the Norwich Inn. I’m spending the night here so I can walk down to King Arthur Flour tomorrow morning and take a baking class: Baking Artisan Breads & Pastries with Ciril Hitz. I’ve brought the book to get autographed, too. Unfortunately, I forgot to bring the camera. I’ll take pictures of the pastries when I get home, but I can’t take a picture of this really charming room in the Inn.

I’d give a link to the class, but the way the site is set up, that’s not possible. So here’s the description, which I hope KAF doesn’t mind my sharing verbatim:

Baking Artisan Breads & Pastries with Ciril Hitz

“Muffins and bagels and Danish, oh my! Find out how easy it is to transform a few everyday ingredients into a kitchen full of artisan-quality pastries and breads that will surely be a welcome addition any family breakfast table or holiday spread. As inspiration for this class, Ciril Hitz has hand-picked a few of his personal favorite formulas from his book, Baking Artisan Pastries and Breads. From quick breads like the Multi-Berry Muffin that are ready within the hour to more decadent enriched dough products such as a holiday Stollen to the flaky laminated layers in a Danish, this class presents the core concepts involved in baking breakfast breads and pastries. The formulas in this hands-on class will cover a wide range of techniques, such as creaming a muffin batter, mixing an enriched dough, and making a layered laminated dough. Additional treats include the provincial French Gibassier, hearty whole wheat bagels, and the almond-laced Bostock.”

Leave a comment

Filed under bread, breakfast, pastry

Leave a Reply

