Pie, Pie

I keep wanting to try Sherry Yard’s blood orange curd, and I’ll probably make it this weekend. The problem is that her method is very labor intensive, so I keep putting it off. But today I decided to try a hybrid version of lemon curd. I processed the zest with the sugar, and I used less sugar. I also used no cornstarch and then baked the tart.

I’m no longer sold on this method. The tart isn’t very lemony, and the curd isn’t stiff enough, although maybe I haven’t let it sit long enough. I’ll try the blood orange curd, though.

Well, that was dessert. For dinner I made the Spring Salmon Pie in the Spring Baking Sheet. The crust is cracker crumbs held together with melted butter and beaten egg, and it was awfully crumbly in the pie plate, and it was still crumbly after the pie was baked. Next time I’ll follow my instincts and add something to the crust—maybe a couple teaspoons of olive oil. The filling was good, although it called for Worcestershire sauce, and I don’t have any so I didn’t use it, and I can see that it needed some kind of added zip. You separate the eggs and beat the whites and fold them in, and when the pie came out of the oven it was very puffy, like a soufflé.

The sourdough culture is bubbly but not extremely active, as it has been. The smell is better. It doesn’t smell like starter yet, but it doesn’t really stink, either.

Reference
Spring Salmon Pie. King Arthur Flour: The Baking Sheet 21;3(Spring 2010): p 15.
Master Lemon Curd. In Sherry Yard: The Secrets of Baking. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2003, pp 75-76.

Leave a comment

Filed under Curd, pie

Leave a Reply

