Baking is Science for Hungry People!

I’ve been baking, I just haven’t been taking pictures and writing about it. I have my work cut out for me tomorrow, though, because we’re out of bread and dessert, and our friend Michele, who’s temporarily living in England, has another English treat for me to try: Eccles cake. “Flaky pastry” can be either flaky pie crust or puff pastry. I’m going to try this with a rough puff pastry, which is sort of a cross between the two.

Meanwhile, over at Questionable Content, Faye and Hannalore have been baking pie. And apparently I’m not the only one who likes Hannalore’s comment “Baking is wonderful! It’s like science for hungry people!” because Jeph has come up with a t-shirt: Scroll down past the end of the comic. I am so getting one of these!

2 Comments

Filed under pastry

2 responses to “Baking is Science for Hungry People!

  1. Michele Wolfe

    I know this is sinful and cheating but can “Jus-Rol puff pastry” be found in the US? In the refrigerated section. That stuff is sent down from the heavens. I can’t imagine Eccles cakes being made with it though. Those taste more like raisins in bisquick. [can you tell I never make anything from scratch? That’s why I love your posts, Joan!]

  2. Pepperidge Farm makes puff pastry; you find it in the freezer section: http://www.puffpastry.com/ I’m going to do the blitz puff pastry today, and you’ll see it’s really easy, and you can freeze it.

Leave a Reply

