Welcome to the 21st Century

This evening I made a banana cream pie. I still get a little thrill seeing the blind-baked pie crust. The pastry cream looked good. I had enough bananas, and I had three egg whites left over from the lemon curd I made on Sunday. I spooned some pastry cream into the crust and sliced the bananas onto it. It looked pretty. I got out the camera and turned it on. The camera said, “Battery depleted.”

There was a time not too long ago that cameras used film and you always had to be thinking ahead. You had to think about how you were using your film and if you had enough.Then you couldn’t see the pictures until the film was developed. That was pretty fast with a Polaroid, but it could be months with conventional film. I have photos from when I was kid that were taken on Christmas and stamped June of the next year. I’ve been taking this instant photo thing a little for granted. I don’t have to make sure I have enough film, but I have to make sure I have enough battery. Welcome to the 21st century.

I’ll take a photo tomorrow when the pie is sliced.

Update: Dr. Science sliced himself some pie to take to work and said, “Now you can take a picture of the crumb.” (We both know pie doesn’t have a crumb, but I like the concept.)

Banana cream pie: the crumb view

Banana cream pie: the crumb view

Leave a comment

Filed under pie

Leave a Reply

