Tomato Tart

Everyone seems to be making (and blogging about) tomato tarts these days. They all sound good, and I figured I’d follow one of the recipes, but then I realized I liked certain aspects of each one, so I took a stab at my own. Well, you know, the first one is the experiment. I’ll make another one, but I’ll do a few things differently.

A slice of experimental tomato tart

A slice of experimental tomato tart

I wanted to use up some leftover pie crust, and I was thinking an Alsatian onion tart would do that, but tomato tart would also work. I got some heirloom cherry tomatoes at Trader Joe’s yesterday (TJ’s calls them “mini heirloom tomatoes”) specifically to use in a tart. Dr. Science doesn’t like goat cheese, so I got some Salvadoran soft white cheese. I got bacon for the Alsatian onion tart, but there’s no reason not to use bacon in a tomato tart, so I figured I’d try some of that, too. We have grainy mustard, but not enough to really coat the bottom of the tart shell, so I thought I’d mix that with a little Greek-style yogurt.

Both of the recipes I liked baked the tart with raw dough, not with a blind-baked crust. This was one thing I think didn’t quite work here. The crust baked okay, but it would’ve been better if I’d blind baked it for 20 minutes and then filled it. Another thing is the tomatoes, which were probably too juicy for this, and for the next one I’ll drain the tomatoes before I put them in the crust. I also thought bacon would be a nice addition (because bacon is always a nice addition), and I didn’t cook it first, but next time I will a little.

So here’s what I’ll do next time:

Heirloom Tomato Tart
10-11 oz pâte brisée or other dough for a 9-inch (24-cm) tart
1 lb heirloom cherry tomatoes
2-3 oz bacon (3 or 4 strips)
¼ cup Greek-style yogurt
1 T grainy mustard
1-2 oz goat cheese or other soft white cheese
salt, pepper, and fresh herbs (e.g., basil, oregano) to taste

Roll out the tart dough, fit it into the tart pan, and trim the dough.

Short dough in a 9-inch (24-cm) tart pan

Short dough in a 9-inch (24-cm) tart pan

Line the dough with foil and weight it.
Put the shell in the freezer while the oven preheats.

Preheat the oven to 375℉.

When the oven is preheated, put the tart shell in to bake for 20 minutes. Remove the tart shell from the oven, remove the foil and weights from the shell. Leave the shell in the tart pan. Let the shell cool while you prepare the filling ingredients.

Halve the tomatoes and set them in a colander to drain.

Aren't those pretty? Next time, I'll slice them and let them drain awhile.

Aren't those pretty? Next time, I'll slice them and let them drain awhile.

Cut the bacon strips into ¼-inch pieces. Line a plate with parchment paper or a paper towel, distribute the bacon pieces over the paper , and top with a paper towel. Microwave on high for 1½ minutes (or fry the bacon until it’s cooked about halfway).
Mix the yogurt and mustard in a small bowl.

Grainy mustard and Greek-style yogurt

Grainy mustard and Greek-style yogurt

Spread the yogurt mixture on the bottom of the tart shell.
Sprinkle salt, pepper, and fresh herbs over the yogurt mixture.
Arrange the tomato halves over the yogurt mixture.

Halved tomatoes arranged over the yogurt-mustard mixture

Halved tomatoes arranged over the yogurt-mustard mixture

Distribute the bacon pieces over the tomatoes.

Bake the tart for 20 minutes. While that’s going on, slice the cheese.
Remove the tart from the oven, arrange the cheese slices over it, and return it to the oven for another 5-8 minutes, until the cheese is melted.

Leave a comment

Filed under pie

Leave a Reply

