Tomato Tart Again

My dad and stepmother are here visiting, and that’s a good reason to try the tomato tart again. This time I used Clotilde’s olive oil crust from Chocolate and Zucchini. I blind baked that for 20 minutes at 375℉, and then after it cooled, I decided I’d like to bake the tart out of the tart pan. So then I put the tart shell on a pizza pan (instead of a baking sheet), which seemed like a good idea at the time. Later I realized that the holes in the pizza pan help make the crust crisp, and it sure made this crust crisp! Next time, I’ll using a baking sheet. The tart was very hard to slice because the crust was crunchy.

Olive oil tart shell with dried oregano

Olive oil tart shell with dried oregano


I didn’t get back to Trader Joe’s for those heirloom cherry tomatoes, which I liked a lot. Instead I got some regular red tomatoes, which worked fine but weren’t quite so pretty. Just for fun, I tossed on some sliced black olives.
Tomato tart with red tomatoes

Tomato tart with red tomatoes


The tart was a big hit, and I think before they leave I’ll make a point of getting some of those heirloom cherry tomatoes and making another one.

Leave a comment

Filed under tart

Leave a Reply

