Pizza

Tonight we had pizza. This is Ciril Hitz’s formula from Baking Artisan Bread. It’s a little more work than no-knead dough, but not much.

For the poolish I used sourdough starter. I can’t bear to throw away starter when I feed it, and it keeps fine in the fridge. I did use the instant yeast that Ciril’s formula calls for in the final dough.

This time I remembered to use the “savory oil,” which is olive oil with some herbs in it. I used garlic, oregano, and basil.

I don’t know what I did differently, but this batch was better than the previous one, and it poofed really well in the oven. One was chicken and black olive:

Chicken and black olive pizza

Chicken and black olive pizza

and the other was pepperoni:

Pepperoni pizza

Pepperoni pizza

The crumb was nice and airy,(but my camera decided to focus on my hand. I have to remember to adjust the setting):

Pepperoni pizza crumb

Pepperoni pizza crumb

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

