Rhubarb Pie

I’m in Rochester, New York, for the weekend. My dad and stepmother and I drove out today; we’re visiting my aunt and uncle and cousin and his wife, whom we don’t see nearly enough.

I couldn’t leave Dr. Science without a pie, so I made a rhubarb one. A pastry chef explained to me recently that when the rhubarb is red, it usually needs to be peeled because the outside is tough and stringy. That’s kind of sad, because it’s the red rhubarb that’s pretty. Fortunately, it’s not necessary to peel red rhubarb that you’re using for pie.

Old red rhubarb and young green rhubarb

Old red rhubarb and young green rhubarb

I didn’t peel this rhubarb, but I cut it up and made a pie:

Pie: It's what's for breakfast

Pie: It's what's for breakfast

Tomorrow morning bright (or not) and early I’m going to my aunt’s house for a tutorial on blueberry roly poly.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Rhubarb Pie

  1. Michele Wolfe

    Rhubard pie without the strawberries … is it as good? And, Joan, I’ll be very interested in seeing the recipe for the rolypoly sauce. My grandma (on my dad’s side) used to make it for us, as did my mom, and it’s by far my favorite dessert. Better than STP!

  2. I’ve never made strawberry-rhubarb pie, only rhubarb. We love rhubarb pie.

Leave a Reply

