Clay’s Multi-Grain Sourdough Bread

This sourdough bread is sort of cheating because it has commercial (instant) yeast in addition to the sourdough starter. However, it took less than 3 hours start to finish, unlike the 6 to 8 hours it typically takes to produce a loaf of bread just with the starter.

Dad suggested spaghetti, bread, and salad for dinner. By the time I realized I needed to make bread, it was lunchtime, so off I went to my favorite recipe source, King Arthur. Clay’s Multi-Grain Sourdough Bread looked easy to do, and I especially liked being able to toss everything in the bread machine and let the machine mix, knead, and proof the dough for me. You’re supposed to bake it in a regular loaf pan, but that didn’t seem like a shape that goes with dinner, somehow, so I just made a boule and proofed and baked it in a 24-cm springform pan.

Clay's multi-grain sourdough bread

Clay's multi-grain sourdough bread

The recipe calls for a seed mixture, and I had plenty of seeds but not the patience to pick some out and make up a mixture, so I just tossed in sunflower seeds. I got the dough in the springform pan for the final rise and asked Dad, “If I made bread with sunflower seeds in it, would you eat it?” “Only if there was nothing else,” he said. Oops. When he found out that’s what I was making, he said he’d eat it and pick the seeds out if he had to. As it turns out, 1/3 cup of sunflower seeds isn’t much, and he liked the bread.

Clay's multi-grain sourdough: the crumb view

Clay's multi-grain sourdough: the crumb view

Actually, we all liked the bread, and it looks like I’ll have to make another loaf tomorrow.

This really would make very nice sandwich bread. The crumb is very light and soft. It’s delicious. For the next loaf, I’ll try a mixture of seeds and I’ll bake it in a loaf pan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

