Clay’s Multi-Grain Sourdough Loaf

Yesterday I made Clay’s Multi-Grain Sourdough Bread, but I shaped it in a boule instead of baking it in a loaf pan as the recipe instructs. Well, as of 8 am, this is what was left of that loaf:

What's left of yesterday's loaf after 12 hours

What's left of yesterday's loaf after 12 hours

And that’s about the amount of bread I had to eat from that loaf, too, so I guess somebody liked it. That means I need to bake a loaf of sandwich bread, so why not do Clay’s Multi-Grain Sourdough again but with a seed blend and in a loaf pan? Once again, I’m letting the machine do the work. Here are the seeds:

Seed assortment

Seed assortment

That’s a tablespoon each of poppy, sesame, flax, quinoa, and amaranth, clockwise from the center. One problem with these machines is that the pans tend to leak. We do everything right, too. Anyway, instead of putting in the liquid ingredients first and then the dry ingredients, I have to put in the dry first and then the wet.

Bread pan full of ingredients

Bread pan full of ingredients

That doesn’t affect how the dough turns out, obviously:

Dough at the end of the dough cycle

Dough at the end of the dough cycle

This dough was pretty tacky; the recipe gives a range for the flour (5¼ to 6½ oz), and I used 6 oz, but maybe 6½ oz would be better, and I’ll try that next time. I popped this right in a loaf pan sprayed with olive oil spray (because the fat in this recipe is olive oil):

Dough in the loaf pan

Dough in the loaf pan

And in half an hour, it was pretty clear I needed to get the oven preheated:

Time to preheat the oven

Time to preheat the oven

By the time the oven was preheated (20 minutes later), the dough had really risen:

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

After baking for 25 minutes, the internal temperature was 200℉. I think it should’ve risen more, but the dough was pretty wet. I definitely need to use more flour next time.

Sandwich loaf

Sandwich loaf

The crumb view

The crumb view

Hmmm, smoked turkey and havarti with lettuce, tomato, and mayonnaise . . .

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

