Gooseberry Crumble

I’d never heard of gooseberry crumble until my friend Michele mentioned it. I didn’t actually know what gooseberries were, either. But because I’d seen Michele’s photos, I knew what I was looking at when I saw them at the Copley Square farmers market. I got two boxes, which were 8 oz each:

A pound of gooseberries

A pound of gooseberries

Michele has been talking about gooseberry crumble, but you can make other things, such as pie. Unfortunately, 1 lb of gooseberries isn’t enough for pie. I looked for a recipe for crumble, but a lot of them called for things I don’t have, like self-raising flour (why do the English love that?), elderflower cordial, and 2 lbs of gooseberries. I chose this one because it uses plain flour, gives amounts by weight, and calls for 1 lb of gooseberries. It doesn’t say how large the baking dish should be, so I used a 9″ x 9″ glass one. The berries fit into that comfortably in one layer:

A pound of gooseberries in a 9" x 9" baking dish

A pound of gooseberries in a 9" x 9" baking dish

The topping went on top of that:

Gooseberries covered with crumble

Gooseberries covered with crumble

And the whole thing baked for 35 minutes, the result of which was:

Gooseberry crumble

Gooseberry crumble

Two small servings, upside down and right side up

Two small servings, upside down and right side up

This is pretty tasty. I think the crumble-to-fruit ratio isn’t right, though. There’s a lot of crumble for this amount of fruit. I think this much crumble needs twice as much fruit; alternatively, I’d use the pound of fruit, put that in a smaller dish so it made two layers, and top it with half the amount of crumble.

3 Comments

Filed under fruit

3 responses to “Gooseberry Crumble

  1. Michele Wolfe

    I love how the recipe describes the gooseberry preparation: “top and tailed and washed” ~ so true! Is there any other fruit prepared quite like that?

  2. LK

    Are they tart?

    I’d agree, I think, that half the crumble would be a good idea (or twice the fruit). Would they go, do you think, with any other summer fruit such as peaches or plums?

  3. Michele, all the recipes I saw say “top and tail the gooseberries.” I don’t know if that’s British or just how you talk about gooseberries. 😀
    Laura, yes, they’re tart, but you need to taste them first to see how tart they are and then adjust the sugar you add to the fruit. I think you could use any fruit with this, adjusting the sugar to the tartness of the fruit: more for rhubarb, less for peaches. It’s pretty much what we’d call a cobbler or slump or grunt; I just wanted what Michele was talking about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

