Pluot Tart

The Market Basket has several varieties of pluots:

Four varieties of pluots

Four varieties of pluots

Pluots are hybrids of plums and apricots. I like the different colors. They’re smooth like plums but a little sweeter.

Pluots: the crumb view

Pluots: the crumb view

I thought it would be fun to use these in the Santa Rosa Plum Tart, which I’ve figured out is a tart made with Santa Rosa plums, not a plum tart that has something to do with Santa Rosa. Now that I’ve realized the slices of fruit are supposed to stick up through the custard, I cut the pluots into 8 slices each. These are a lot bigger than the little plums I got at the farmers market, so no problem there.

Pluots on the tart shell

Pluots on the tart shell

I was out of heavy cream, but the recipe only calls for 2 tablespoons, so I threw caution to the wind and used sour cream instead, which worked fine.

Tart filled with custard and ready to bake

Tart filled with custard and ready to bake

And here it is done:

Pluot tart

Pluot tart

The baked fruit tastes like peaches more than anything. Alice Waters says you can use raspberries, but I’m thinking this would be good with any fruit that’s a little tart.

1 Comment

Filed under fruit, tart

One response to “Pluot Tart

  1. Pingback: 3B: Classic Doughs | Adventures in Pastry School

Leave a Reply

