Apple Pie and Wegman’s

Most of my baking has been at school these days, but we needed dessert on Monday, and we have plenty of apples, so apple pie was the answer. Just for fun, I tried to spiff it up a bit.

I used the usual flaky pie crust recipe and the usual sugar mixture for the filling. I should’ve cut back on the sugar mixture, because I used fewer apples; well, I’ll know better next time. Usually I use three each of Granny Smith and Empire, but this time I used two Granny Smith, two Empire, and one Golden Delicious. Partly I wanted to try something a little different, and partly I was trying to reduce the amount of filling; you’d think that would’ve been a clue to reduce the amount of sugar mixture.

Apple pie awaiting a decorative top crust

Apple pie awaiting a decorative top crust


Anyway, instead of the usual full top crust with slits cut in it, I wanted to try something festive with leaf shapes. I don’t have leaf cookie cutters, but they would be convenient. Instead, I just rolled out some dough and cut shapes with a knife.
Apple-leaf shape cut from flaky pie dough

Apple-leaf shape cut from flaky pie dough


Then I cut down the middle all the way through to represent the main vein:
Main leaf vein cut all the way through

Main leaf vein cut all the way through


and then added some nicks on either side to represent the secondary veins.
Finished leaf

Finished leaf


I made 16 of these because a pie is normally eight servings. (When our nephew Ed is eating it, the number of servings is significantly fewer.) Then I arranged them radiating out from the center, which seemed logical.
Leaf cutouts forming a top crust

Leaf cutouts forming a top crust


Unfortunately, that layout looks a lot like a poinsettia. Sometimes a centered, symmetrical design is not the best one. I’ll try this again and arrange the leaves differently, maybe in a kind of spiral or maybe randomly. Then I brushed the leaves with egg wash, which was just a beaten egg. Egg white would’ve worked, too. The white adds shine, and the yolk browns and makes the leaves a slightly different color from the rest of the crust.
The finished pie

The finished pie

In other news, Wegman’s is coming to Massachusetts! I’m pretty sure I had nothing to do with this, and the first store is 20 miles from the Hub of the Universe, but they’re planning several more to open over the next 5 to 7 years, and it’s looking like Cambridge will be a good fit.

Leave a comment

Filed under pie

Leave a Reply

